His Promise

5 Apr

April 21-27 is Infertility Awareness Week! 1 in 8 women will suffer from this emotionally painful condition, and many of them will suffer in silence. Infertility is a “secret” disorder, yet its impact is massive and devastating. I believe it needs to be discussed, so couples who are experiencing it can feel comfortable seeking support. So please share this with as many people as you can, because I guarantee you know someone who needs to hear it.

This is my story, my poem….

His Promise

Its the moment when you reach out to him 
He looks in your eyes and there it all begins
The love that was shared just between you two
Is ready to bring into this world life a new
Soon everything we know will surely change
But we have said our goodbyes to the younger days
I can see it all so clearly, right before my eyes
My hopes and dreams, the promises of our lives

Then the days they pass on by into years
Families grow, but all I’m left with are tears
Where’s the life that this world promised me?
Where’s my kids, my joy, my family?
Didn’t you say to ask and I will receive?
Then why is it me, your faithful daughter, who cannot conceive?

Others look at me in pain, trying desperately to avoid
What can they say to comfort me, that doesn’t just annoy?
You cannot know, YOU CANNOT KNOW, how this possibly feels
As your children dance and play, wrapped around your heels
And it’s hard, it’s so hard, and I just can’t stand it
Im down on my knees screaming, “Lord is this how you planned it?”

But at first the answer doesn’t come and the time it moves so still
Every month that passes by, there is a funeral only I feel
And each and every time I say “God I have given this to you”
But each and every time, I know that is not the truth
And then one day he gave me just a little light to see
He whispered “I’m your comfort and a lamp unto your feet
You don’t know where you are going, but I’m already there
It’s the promise that I made you, but way beyond compare
So please just take me by the hand and know I’ve been here all along
I have surely come to prosper you and keep you from all harm
Give to me your baby and everything you own
And I will show you love beyond what you have ever known.”

3 Responses to “His Promise”

  1. fundusrubber April 8, 2013 at 6:16 am #

    I feel everything you said in your poem every single day of my life. Check out my blog too.

  2. fundusrubber April 8, 2013 at 6:18 am #

    I live this everyday of my life. Check out my blog at http://www.lifebeyondfertlitytx.WordPress.com

  3. poussette double April 12, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in
    penning this website. I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get
    my own, personal site now 😉

Leave a Reply

